Facundo Cabral UNESCO Messenger of Peace

From the most humble of beginnings he came to inspire millions around the world through his songs, poems and 66 books. He walked 3,000 km at the age of nine to look for work to support his mother and six siblings after his father abandoned them. When he left his mother told him “This is the second, and last gift I can give you. The first was to give you life, and the second one, the liberty to live it.”

He wrote music that inspired millions. He met Mother Teresa and Jorge Luis Borges. He performed in over 165 countries in 8 different languages. His wife and one year-old daughter were killed in a plane crash in 1978. He was nearly blind and crippled, and a terminal cancer survivor as well. He once said: ‘Siempre le pregunto a Dios, ¿por qué a mí tanto me diste? Me diste miseria, hambre, felicidad, lucha, luces… vi todo. Sé que hay cáncer, sífilis y primavera, y buñuelos de manzana’ (I always ask God, why did you give me so much? You gave me misery, hunger, happiness, struggle, lights… I saw everything. I know there is cancer, syphillis, and Spring, and apple fritters.)

“Forgive me Lord but sometimes I get tired of being a citizen. The city tires me, the offices, my family and the economy. Forgive me Lord, I am tired of this hell, this mediocre market where everyone has a price. Forgive me Lord but I will go with you through your mountains, your seas, and your rivers. Forgive me Lord but sometimes I think you have something better than this for me. Forgive me Lord, I don’t want to be a citizen, I want to be a man, Lord, like you created me.”

He was shot and killed  today during a tour in Guatemala City

Facundo Cabral (May 22, 1937- July 9, 2011) “I’m not from here, nor am I from there”

One thought on “Facundo Cabral UNESCO Messenger of Peace

Leave a Reply

